Kapiti Chess Club - Promoting The Art Of Chess
Show Menu

The 2020 Kāpiti Rapid

The 26th playing of the Kāpiti Rapid drew one of the largest number of entrants in the tournament’s history and attracted players from as far afield as Auckland.

The top grade boasted a strong line up with an average rating of almost 2100, and 5 titled players, including current New Zealand Champion and top seed, FM Ben Hague. Things did not go smoothly for the pre-tournament favourite, when he suffered a loss playing Black against Athula Russell in round 3 (see game here). FM Nic Croad took control of the tournament with a win in round 5 against defending champion, FM Scott Wastney (see game here). He secured the tournament win with a final round win against CM Jack James (game here), to achieve 5½ from a possible 6 points. Athula Russell, who remained unbeaten, and Ben Hague tied second on 5 points.

2020 Kāpiti Rapid winner Nic Croad with Club President Gordon Lyall 

The B grade was a tight affair and resulted in a 4-way share of first place between Kayden Loke, Nathan Hall, Lars Dobbertin-King and Paul He, each scoring a very impressive 4 points.

The C grade was shared by Jamie Webster and ungraded 15-year-old Henry Zaslov who recently arrived in Wellington from the USA.

The Junior gold medal winner was Michael Sole, who scored a solid 4 points and played on board 2 against Ben Hague in the last round. Winner of the silver medal, on tie-break, was Afique Nazeer.

The Junior (U15) gold medal went to Kayden Loke on tie-break from Paul He, who took silver.

David Paul and Ross Jackson were the highest scoring locals on 3½, and share the Flora Paul Memorial Trophy for the best performing Kāpiti Club members.

Full results can be found here.
Photos from the event can be viewed here.
Past Kāpiti Rapids can be viewed here.