Kapiti Chess Club - Promoting The Art Of Chess
Show Menu

The 2021 Kāpiti Rapid

The 27th annual Kāpiti Rapid was held in Paraparaumu on Saturday 29th May. The tournament fielded the second largest number of players in its 30-year history, with 45 players, including several titled players and former New Zealand champions. The tournament was played over 6 rounds under a 25 m + 5s time format.

Congratulations to Russell Dive who took out the open grade with an unbeaten 5½ from 6, with Brian Nijman and Anthony Ker sharing 2nd= on 5, and  Ben Hague, Scott Wastney and Ryan Winter tied for 4th=  on 4½. Interestingly, Russell was the co-winner of the very first Kāpiti Rapid held 30 years ago in 1991, and this is the 11th time he has won it.

Some critical results included Andrew Brockway’s victory over Anthony Ker in Round 2,  and Scott Wastney’s win over Ben Hague in Round 4. Second place getter, Brian Nijman played well with his sole loss also coming in Round 4 to eventual winner Russell. Brian’s fifth round win against fast improving junior Kayden Loke also drew applause from the crowd of spectators as he skillfully managed to execute a bishop and knight versus king mate in significant time trouble.

While Russell entered his Round 6 game against top seed Ben Hague a clear point ahead, four chasers including Ben, could catch him if they won. Both Russell and Ben had victory to play for, so it was unlikely to be a quick draw. The game battled down to the final minutes into a tense endgame, with both eventually able to promote pawns into a drawn K&Q v K&Q position. The draw was enough to give Russell the tournament victory.

Andrew Brockway also had a good day, with a victory over Anthony Ker, and only a single loss to Ryan Winter to finish on 4 from 6. Along with fellow Wellington Club mates Joshua Langford, Thomas Van der Hoorn, and Brent Perrin, he took a four-way share of the B grade prize, for those rated 1400 to 1800.

Taking out the C grade (under 1400) was unrated player Mathieson Carlyle with an impressive 4 from 6, ahead of Aidan Malcolm and Eric Zaslow on 3½.

Showing some amazing depth and future promise, the field comprised 16 juniors, ranging in ages from 8 to 19, and from unrated to ratings over 1900. In the 14 and over age group, Ryan Winter took out the Gold medal, ahead of Thomas van der Hoorn, while in the under 14 group, Kayden Loke again shone through to take the Gold medal ahead of Zac Li.

The top scoring Kāpiti Club players on 3½ were Guy Burns and David Paul along with dual Wellington and Kāpiti Club member Ross Jackson.

Final results can be found here:
Full crosstable
Standings by grade
Junior standings by age group

Photos from the day can be found here.

The day was well-organised and run by Club President Gordon Lyall, with the great help of his wife Andrea, and support from Club members. Thanks also to the Wellington Chess Club who provided extra equipment.

Thanks to all who attended.