Kapiti Chess Club - Promoting The Art Of Chess
Show Menu

The 2022 Kāpiti Rapid

The 28th annual Kāpiti Rapid was held in Paraparaumu on Saturday 28th May. The tournament drew a good field of 40 players, including several titled players and former New Zealand champions. A relatively strong field compared with previous years, with an average rating amongst rated players of 1670. The tournament was played over 6 rounds under a 25 m + 5s time format.

Congratulations to FM Ben Hague who took out the open grade with an unbeaten 5½ from 6, with IM Russell Dive and Michael Sole 2nd= on 5. This is the second time Ben has won the tournament.

The crucial game was the final round clash between Ben Hague and Anthony Ker, both going into the round unbeaten on 4½, having dropped just ½ a point in previous rounds to Russell Dive. A win or a draw for either would secure the tournament. This was not going to be a tame draw, however, as Ben opened with a Trompowsky and was able to secure and convert an early space advantage for the win.  See game here.

In the B grade (1400 to 1800), Josh Langford was the comfortable winner on 4½ (4th= overall), his only loss to tournament winner Ben Hague. Nicolas Winsley also had a good day securing second place in the B grade with 4 from 6. Taking out the C grade (under 1400) was  Cohen Young on 3½, with Jun Lee and Lucas Qu equal second on 3.

The depth, performance and future promise of the juniors in the field was again evident. In the 14 and over age group, Thomas Van der Hoorn, Josh Langford and Nicolas Winsley took out the medals, all finishing in the top 8 (photo below). Current Olympiad team member and second at this year’s Congress, Felix Xie  was not far behind, perhaps a little unlucky with a tougher draw. In the under 14 group, current  joint New Zealand junior champion Ollie Archer won the gold medal ahead of Lucas Qu and Mavram Easham (photo below).

The top scoring Kāpiti Club player, and taking home the Flora Paul Cup,  was Ross Jackson on 3½.  

The day was well-organised and run by Club President Gordon Lyall, with the great help of his wife Andrea, and support from Club members. Thanks to all who attended.


Final results can be found here:
Full crosstable
Standings by grade
Junior standings by age group

More photos from the day can be found here.

This year’s tournament flyer is here.